Content to: Interview

©

RESET Interviews: How to Make Sustainable Digitisation a Reality

What the experts saying about digitisation and sustainability? RESET asked them to find out.

Bits&Bäume

Interview: “Digitisation urgently needs to be used for justice and environmental protection – the Bits and Bäume Conference is more important than ever.”

From 30 September to 2 October 2022, the second Bits and Bäume (Bits & Trees) Conference will take place at Technische Universität Berlin. We talked to Friederike Hildebrandt about the role of digitalisation at German environmental NGO BUND, as well as the importance of the conference.

100 Percent Renewable Energy Needs Efficiency and Intelligence. Interview with Severin Beucker (Borderstep Institute)

How can we successfully transform our energy system towards climate neutrality? For Severin Beucker, co-founder of the Borderstep Institute, the most important prerequisites are efficient and intelligent grids and consumers.

Interview: How Can Citizens and Civil Society Use Civic Tech to Initiate Change?

What is civic tech and how can it facilitate political protest? Daniel Staemmler from Humboldt University Berlin answers these questions.

chris-slupski-lehpd4jq_cu-unsplash
©

Interview: The Superpowers of the Internet Giants – a Challenge for Democratic Discourse

How do Amazon, Google, Facebook and Co. influence public discourse? And what possibilities are there for regulation? We talked about this with Vérane Meyer and Torben Klausa, authors of a recently published study by the Heinrich Böll Foundation.

Interview: How Problematic Are Satellites and Drones in Terms of Data Protection?

Are photos made by satellites problematic in terms of data protection? Is there enough regulation around the use of drones? How can we ensure that remote sensing data isn't misused? We talked about all of this with data protection expert Marit Hansen.

Interview: Space Junk – How Can We Stop Outer Space Turning Into a Garbage Dump?

Satellites offer us crucial information that can help us protect our planet, but while the number of satellites in orbit grows, so does the amount of space junk - dead satellites, pieces of machinery and debris left by humans in space. We talked to Holger Krag from ESA about why space junk is a problem and about what is being done to clean up the mess.

collage_climate_justice
© RESET.org

Voices of Climate Justice: The Full Interview Series

While we are all affected by climate change, not all climate impacts are created, or distributed, equally. In the interview series "Voices of Climate Justice", we talk to environmental activists from the Global South about their experiences, activism, opinions and hopes for the future. Read on to discover all of the interviews in the series.

Nico Lang

Interview: EcoVision Lab Is Mapping Biomass for the Good of the Planet

The EcoVision Lab at ETH Zurich is developing a tool that can accurately map biomass - all over the world - using remote sensing data. They hope it will make land-use planning more objective, transparent and environmentally-friendly, as well as protecting forests and biodiversity throughout the globe. We spoke to two of the brains behind the project.

Inhalte zu: Interview

100 Prozent erneuerbare Energien gelingt nur mit Effizienz und Intelligenz. Severin Beucker (Borderstep Institut) im Interview

Wie gelingt die Transformation unseres Energiesystems hin zu Klimaneutralität? Für Severin Beucker, Mitgründer des Borderstep-Instituts, sind die wichtigsten Voraussetzungen: Effiziente und intelligente Netze und Verbraucher*innen.

Interview: Wie können Bürger*innen und Zivilgesellschaft mit Civic Tech Veränderungen anstoßen?

Was ist Civic Tech und wie kann daraus politischer Protest werden? Darauf gibt Daniel Staemmler von der HU Berlin in diesem Interview Antworten.

ClimateVisualizer

Interview: Der Cloud-Service ClimateVisualizer veröffentlicht lokale CO2-Budgets für Gemeinden und Bürger*innen

Viele Länder veröffentlichen Zahlen über CO2-Emissionen. Aber was bedeuten sie eigentlich? Der ClimateVisualizer nimmt die Daten und zeigt Fortschritte und wichtige nächste Schritte.

Interview: Das Projekt SustAIn entwickelt einen Nachhaltigkeitsindex für Künstliche Intelligenz

Im Projekt SustAIn werden Kriterien entwickelt, um die Nachhaltigkeit von KI-basierten Systemen bewertet zu können. Wir sprachen mit Friederike Rohde, die das Teilprojekt am IÖW koordiniert.

chris-slupski-lehpd4jq_cu-unsplash
©

Interview: Die Supermacht der Internet-Giganten – eine Herausforderung für den demokratischen Diskurs

Wie beeinflussen die großen Kommunikationsplattformen Amazon, Google und Co. den öffentlichen Diskurs? Und welche Regulierungsmöglichkeiten gibt es? Darüber sprachen wir mit Vérane Meyer und Torben Klausa, Autor*innen einer kürzlich veröffentlichten Studie der Böll-Stiftung.

satelliten-drohnen-ueberwachung-datenschutz
©

Interview: Wie problematisch sind Satelliten und Drohnen aus Datenschutzperspektive?

Wann sind Aufnahmen von Satelliten datenschutzrechtlich problematisch? Reicht die Regulierung von Drohnen aus? Wie kann das Risiko für den Missbrauch von Fernerkundungsdaten eingedämmt werden? Darüber haben wir mit der Datenschutzexpertin Marit Hansen gesprochen.

collage_climate_justice
© RESET.org

Stimmen der Klimagerechtigkeit: Klimaaktivist*innen weltweit im Interview

Die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels sind ungleich verteilt; die am stärksten davon betroffenen Länder sind nicht unbedingt die Hauptverursacher. Wir haben mit Umweltaktivist*innen aus dem Globalen Süden über ihre Erfahrungen, ihren Aktivismus, ihre Meinungen und ihre Hoffnungen für die Zukunft gesprochen. Ein Überblick über alle Interviews der Reihe.

fig2_sentinel2_lidar_vegetationshoehe
©

Interview: EcoVision Lab will die weltweite Biomasse kartieren und so die Umwelt besser schützen

Das EcoVision Lab der ETH Zürich arbeitet an der Entwicklung eines Tools, das auf Grundlage von Fernerkundungsdaten die Biomasse weltweit kartiert. Damit will die Forschungsgruppe eine objektive und transparente Entscheidungsgrundlage für die Landnutzungsplanung schaffen und Biodiversität und wichtige Waldflächen erhalten. Wir haben mit zwei der Köpfe des Labs gesprochen.

Interview: Weltraumschrott – Wie können wir eine Müllhalde im Orbit verhindern?

Satelliten leisten wertvolle Dienste im Umwelt- und Klimaschutz, doch die Anzahl vor allem von kommerziellen Satelliten steigt rasant. Damit wächst auch die Menge an ausgedienten Satelliten und Trümmerteilen im Orbit, dem sogenannten Weltraumschrott. Warum das problematisch ist und wie mögliche Lösungen aussehen, darüber sprachen wir mit Holger Krag von der ESA.