Jasmina Schmidt

Ehemalige*r Mitarbeiter*in / Former team member

Articles by Jasmina

Prototype Fund in Interview: Promoting Public Interest Tech in Times of Covid

Technology developed for the good of society - Germany's Prototype Fund has been supporting "tech for good" projects since 2016. We spoke to Patricia Leu about public interest tech, sustainability and the impact of the coronavirus pandemic on their mission.

Bluefield: Using Satellites to Detect Methane Leaks From Space

Leaks in natural gas pipelines often cause methane to escape undetected into the atmosphere, where it fuels climate change. Bluefield is using satellites and optical sensors to detect these leaks from space.

Berlin Startup HEDERA is Measuring the Impact of Microfinance Projects

Is sustainability measurable? The startup HEDERA has developed a digital toolkit to collect and visualise data for the microfinance sector - making it easier to find out whether projects achieve the desired impact.

Freeing the Seas From Ghost Fishing Nets – With the Help of an App

A new app from the WWF lets individuals join a digital team cleaning up “ghost nets” - discarded fishing nets polluting our seas and oceans.

New Study Shows Digital Tech Can Help Mini-Grids Bring Truly Sustainable Energy to Remote Areas

For many people living in rural areas around the globe, micro-grids are a lifeline, the only reliable source of power. A new study has shown that upgrading those grids with the help of digital tech could help make that power greener, more reliable and more sustainable than ever before.

An AI-Powered Plant Doctor Helps Farmers Tackle Crop Pests and Plant Diseases

The Plantix app uses machine learning to detect crop pests and diseases and provides tips on how to treat them - helping ensure greater food security and secure the livelihoods of small farmers.

Winnow: Harnessing the Power of AI to Tackle Food Waste in the Catering Industry

From farm to plate, unnecessary waste is a huge problem throughout the food supply chain. London-based company Winnow has come up with an AI-integrated waste disposal system to help restaurants dramatically reduce what gets thrown away.

Map Kibera

Map Kibera: How Grassroots Mapping Projects are Empowering Slums in Nairobi

Ten years ago, Kibera, Nairobi's largest slum, was just a blank spot on the map. But that's all changed: ever since young local residents created the first ever free and open digital map of their community.

KiteKraft: Wind Power from Kite Turbines Could Revolutionise the Energy Sector

A wind turbine designed like a kite is set to shake up the wind power sector. Are traditional wind turbines on their way out?

Jasmina Schmidt

Ehemalige*r Mitarbeiter*in / Former team member

Artikel von Jasmina

Prototype Fund im Interview: Public Interest Tech in Zeiten von Corona

Technologie zum Wohl der Gesellschaft – solche Projekte fördert der Prototype Fund seit 2016. Wir sprachen mit Patricia Leu über Public Interest Tech und dessen Förderung, Nachhaltigkeit und wie die Corona-Pandemie dabei hineinspielt.

glass-bottles-in-bag-3735218
©

Neue App für mehr Nachhaltigkeit im Alltag

Die App NachhaltICH vom BMZ stellt den Nutzer*innen Challenges, die sie Stück für Stück an die unterschiedlichen Herausforderungen unseres ressourcenintensiven Lebens heranführen.

Bluefield: Methan-Lecks mit Satelliten erkennen

Durch Lecks in Erdgas-Pipelines gerät Methan oft unentdeckt in die Atmosphäre und befeuert dort den Klimawandel. Mit Satelliten und optischen Sensoren kann das Unternehmen Bluefield diese Lecks aus dem All aufspüren.

mhd-flexibel-food-waste-reduzieren
©

FreshAnalytics: Ein dynamisches Haltbarkeitsdatum für weniger Lebensmittelverschwendung

Ein digitales Haltbarkeitsdatum, das je nach Lager- und Transportbedingungen angepasst wird – genau daran arbeitet das Projekt FreshAnalytics. Möglich wird das mit Künstlicher Intelligenz.

The Sun Protocol verbindet erneuerbare Energie mit der Blockchain

Das Joint Venture The Sun Protocol arbeitet an solaren Mini-Grids für Subsahara-Afrika. Die Blockchain in diesem System misst und belohnt die Nutzung von nachhaltiger Energie mit Tokens, die auch als Zahlungsmittel verwendet werden können.

Berliner Startup HEDERA will den Impact von Mikrofinanzprojekten messbar machen

Kann man Nachhaltigkeit messbar machen? Das Startup HEDERA hat ein digitales Toolkit zur Erhebung und Visualisierung von Daten für den Mikrofinanzsektor entwickelt. So kann besser analysiert werden, ob Projekte die gewünschte Wirkung erzielen.

Die Meere von Geisternetzen befreien – mithilfe einer App

„Geisternetze“ sind alte Fischernetze, die in Gewässern enden und einen erheblichen Teil des Plastikmülls im Meer ausmachen. Mit einer App des WWF können nun Laien die Standorte solcher Netze markieren. Professionelle Taucher bergen diese dann und verringern so die Gefahrenquellen für Meeresbewohner.

Mini-Grids und digitale Technologien bringen nachhaltigen Strom an entlegene Orte

Mini-Grids sind unabhängig vom nationalen Stromnetz und helfen bei der Elektrifizierung ländlicher Gebiete. Eine Studie des IASS hat untersucht, wie die Mini-Netze, kombiniert mit digitalen Technologien, zur nachhaltigen Energieversorgung beitragen können.

Projekt REIF: Künstliche Intelligenz identifiziert Food Waste entlang der Lebensmittelkette

Das Projekt REIF will Food Waste entlang der Lebensmittelkette verringern. Mithilfe Künstlicher Intelligenz sollen Stellschrauben zur Reduzierung der Lebensmittelverschwendung bei der Molke-, Fleisch- und Bäckereiproduktion erkannt werden.